Chère Maman

Today, I am told, I should celebrate you

Although one day a year is far less than you’re due.

You’re the person I trust when I’m scared to tell others

& I can’t resist rhyming so this line ends with “mother”.

I was a terror in school, and I had a tough time

but when I was lost, you would act as my sign.

If you said I was right, I didn’t fear consequences.

No, my head would be high, I shook off their offences.

Screen Shot 2017-03-26 at 11.44.09

I was the slowest of runners, hardly got any As

but you’d always praise effort and my own unique pace.

You taught me to live, without fear of rejection

and to always be me, not another’s reflection.

And Mum, I still need you to show linings in clouds

Less now than before, but when ridden with doubts

I try my best to see people as you always have;

To understand and to help them & to give them a chance.

580225_10150630623911269_335010525_n

There’s a lot more I know this poem hasn’t conveyed

but I owe you my life and each time it’s been saved.

You have done so much good, world’s a much better place

and I’ll always be proud that, by you, I was raised!

I love you Mummy!

2 thoughts on “Chère Maman

  1. Darling, this is the most wonderful present.
    Thank you! Do you mind if I post it on my FB page?

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

